Motor Vehicle Accidents

If You Are Involved In An Accident


Stop your car - Never leave the scene of an accident in which you or your car was involved. No matter how slight the collision, if your fail to stop, you could be convicted of "hit and run" and be subject to criminal prosecution even if the accident was not your fault. If you are blocking a lane of travel and your car is still operable, move your vehicle to the side of the road.

Get aid for the injured - If anyone is hurt, call 911 and ask for an ambulance. Do not attempt first aid unless you are qualified to give it, as you could make matters worse instead of better.

Call the police - Call 911 for the police even if there are no injuries.  


Remain in your vehicle - Put your hazard lights on to indicate that your car is not moving and stay in the car until emergency personnel have arrived.


Filing a Uniform Crash Report-  In the State of Rhode Island when a person is involved in a crash where there is bodily injury or damage in excess of $1,000 they are required to file a Uniform Crash Report, also known as the “Police Report.” This report is generated by state and local law enforcement officials, usually at the scene of the crash, and is accepted by DMV in lieu of the State Accident Report. The crash report is automatically sent to the R.I. Department of Transportation (DOT) where crash statistics are tabulated. DMV receives the crash information from DOT every day, eliminating an additional step for motorists to file a separate report with the DMV.  


Accident Statement-  At the scene of an accident, the investigating officer will request the the vehicle operator(s) complete a Tiverton Police Department Accident Statement form.  The form provides the operator with the opportunity to describe the circumstances surrounding the accident in his or her own words.  The form also provides the investigating officer with valuable information so they can complete an accident report in a timely manner.  Click here to view the Tiverton Police Department Accident Statement form.


Obtaining Your Accident Report


The officer handling your accident will give you an accident report number at the scene of the accident. You will need this number in order to obtain your crash report. You may purchase your crash report online at least 48 hours after the accident by going to





You may also obtain a copy from the Tiverton Police Department Records Division.  Please visit the Access to Public Records page for more information on obtaining an accident report.  

© 2020 by the Tiverton Police Department.

Tiverton Police Department, 20 Industrial Way, Tiverton Rhode Island 02878.  

Non Emergency: 401-625-6717  Emergency: 911

created with

  • Facebook App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon